Home 9 In the Spotlight 9 2022 Annual Wrap-Up (ALA) – Plus More ATG news & Announcements for 7/21/22

2022 Annual Wrap-Up (ALA) – Plus More ATG news & Announcements for 7/21/22

by | Jul 20, 2022 | 0 comments

#


American Libraries reports that “From June 23 to 28, the American Library Association (ALA) held its 2022 Annual Conference and Exhibition, its first major in-person conference since the pandemic began. Participants’ eagerness to gather and reconnect was palpable and seen in the numbers: The conference drew 7,738 in-person attendees; 5,431 exhibitors, authors, illustrators, press representatives, and staff members; and 834 virtual attendees for the Digital Experience. A total of 14,003 people registered…”


MORE LIBRARY AND PUBLISHING NEWS FROM A VARIETY OF SOURCES


CONFERENCES, MEETINGS, & WEBINARS

Critical Thinking Bootcamp 2022 – “As AI becomes smarter and more deeply embedded in how we access information and algorithms increasingly dictate what information we consume, how can we train students to spot and respond to misinformation? And what ethical considerations do we need to think through along the way?  
SAGE Publishing’s Third Annual Critical Thinking Bootcamp (9AM-12PM PST / 12PM-3PM EST) offers insights, guidance, and resources to help librarians, professors, and other staff encourage critical thinking in and out of the classroom. Join our free, virtual sessions to find ways to recognize and address the impact of tech trends on our media ecosystem and learn tactics that can be used to educate students…”

ACRL/SPARC Forum: Emerging “Inclusive Access” Programs and Their Implications for Course Material Affordability – “Join us for the free, virtual ACRL/SPARC ForumEmerging ‘Inclusive Access’ Programs and Their Implications for Course Material Affordability” at 1:00 p.m. Eastern/12:00 p.m. Central/11 a.m. Mountain/10 a.m. Pacific on Thursday, August 4, 2022…”

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

LATEST NEWS

ATG Job Bank for 6/23/24

NORTH Assistant Director of Rare Books, Special Collections and Preservation, University of Rochester, (Rochester, NY) Director of Learning Initiatives - University of Rochester - Rochester, NY Associate University Librarian - Rutgers University - New Brunswick, New...

Tea Time With Katina And Leah

I confess. I love baseball. We didn’t have a tv until the late 50s, so radio was the best way to hear about baseball games.  I was sad to learn of the death of Willie Mays, one of the greatest baseball players of all time. My brothers and I used to pull for the...

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR PODCAST

Share This