Home 9 In the Spotlight 9 Sara Miller McCune London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award 2018

Sara Miller McCune London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award 2018

by | Mar 22, 2018 | 0 comments

The London Book Fair will present the Lifetime Achievement Award 2018 to Sara Miller McCune, Founder and Executive Chairman of SAGE Publishing.

Image result for sara miller mccune picture

Sara Miller McCune is a visionary publisher, philanthropist, and entrepreneur. She oversaw the growth of SAGE from a start-up to one of the largest independent publishing companies in the world. For over 50 years, she has led the publishing industry in business, through her tireless support for social science research and through her passion for philanthropy. The LBF Lifetime Achievement Award in International Publishing will be presented at the International Excellence Awards, an invitation-only event on Tuesday 10 April 2018, 6.30pm in The Conference Centre, Olympia, London.

Sara Miller McCune will also speak at The London Book Fair’s Research and Scholarly Publishing Forum on Wednesday 11 April 2018.

 Katina Strauch, Founder and Convener, Charleston Conference recounts: Lyman Newlin introduced me to Sara and her mother in Charleston at the Mills Hyatt Hotel back in the 80s when the Charleston Conference had just started. When my husband and I decided to publish Against the Grain as an extension of the conference in 1989, Sara was very enthusiastic and encouraging. She even sent subscriptions to friends and colleagues. There was controversy over the Rumors section of ATG but Sara was earnest and suggested the current layout of the front page which survives to this day in the print edition. Sara also conceived of and wrote the very first publisher profile. She deserves all the kudos that she has received and many more! What a publisher, innovator, leader, and woman!

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made a truly significant mark in the sphere of global publishing. It is open to publishers, agents, editors, scouts, and anyone else involved in international publishing from any country in the world. Last year the award was presented to Luiz Schwartz, Companhia das Letras. Previous recipients include Deborah Rogers of Rogers, Coleridge & White, Sonny Mehta of Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., Lord Weidenfeld, Weidenfeld and Nicolson, Christopher MacLehose, now of MacLehose Press, John Lyon of Little, Brown (posthumously), Lynette Owen of Pearson Education, Peter Mayer of The Overlook Press/ Duckworth Publishers, Drenka Willen, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Antoine Gallimard, Éditions Gallimard, Jorge Herralde of Editorial Anagrama and Michael Krüger of Hanser Verlag and Baroness Gail Rebuck, Penguin Random House.



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


ATG Job Bank for 12/4/22

NORTH Web Content Strategist, Boston University, Boston, MA Resource Management Librarian - NYU Grossman School of Medicin NY Manager, Library Relations, Practising Law Institute, (NYC, NY) E-Resources Librarian, Bridgewater State University, Bridgewater, MA Associate...



Share This