Home 9 Latest News 9 OCLC recognizes 2011 award winners

OCLC recognizes 2011 award winners

by | Jul 1, 2011 | 0 comments

OCLC recognized award winners during the OCLC President’s Luncheon June 27 at the 2011 ALA Annual Conference and Exhibit held in New Orleans, Louisiana. Part of OCLC’s commitment to research and education includes furthering the advancement of librarianship. OCLC does this not only through advocacy efforts and Research and Innovation Lab, but also by financially supporting awards and scholarships. OCLC is proud to announce the following 2011 awards that recognize innovation and creativity in the library community:

· OCLC/LITA Minority Scholarship in Library and Information Technology Diamond
Camille Sankey, Wayne State University

· Margaret Mann Citation Awarded posthumously to Edward Swanson, former Manager, MINITEX Contract Cataloging and Coordinator of Library Cataloging and Principal Cataloger, Minnesota Historical Society

· John Ames Humphry/OCLC Forest Press Award for International Librarianship
Sally Tseng, Former President, Asian Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) and Head of Serials Cataloging, University of California, Irvine

· American Library Association’s Melvil Dewey Medal
Deanna Marcum, Associate Librarian for Library Services, the Library of Congress

· Virginia Boucher—OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian
Ed Rivenburgh, Information Delivery Services Project Director, Milne Library, State University of New York (SUNY), Geneseo

· Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology
Dr. Daniel J. Cohen, Associate Professor of history and art history at George Mason University and Director of the Center for History and New Media

More information about OCLC annual awards and scholarships can be found at www.oclc.org/community/careerdevelopment.



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


ATG Job Bank for 4/21/24

Image via Pixabay NORTH Reference, Collections, and Instruction Librarian for Molecular and Cellular Biology, Harvard University, (Cambridge, MA) Research and Instruction Librarian - Haverford College - Haverford, PA Associate College Librarian & Coordinator for...

Tea Time With Katina And Leah

4/19/24 The Fiesole Retreats are not to be missed! Cape Town 7-8 May 2024 is coming up! The Fiesole Retreat is pleased to announce that, thanks to a generous travel grant from the Elsevier Foundation, in coordination with ITOCA (Information Training & Outreach...


Share This